Waseda University ICT and Robotics

Top Global University Project: Waseda Goes Global -A Plan to Build a Worldwide Academic Network
that is Open, Dynamic and Diverse

Waseda University


Dr. Bjarne Stroustrup

Managing Director, Morgan Stanley
Visiting Professor, Columbia University
C++ Developer
IEEE Computer Society Computer Pioneer Award 2018 Winner

Using Modern C++ - stepping up to C++17

The C++17 ISO standard has just become official and is already shipping from the major compiler suppliers (GCC, Clang, Microsoft). The shape of C++20 is under active discussion and early versions of some potential new features are already available.

This talk will consider the implications for the use of C++. It will offerl guidelines and techniques for using new and older features with focus on features that can make a significant difference to developers by simplifying programming or increasing performance.

Click here for the slide


Stroustrup is the designer and original implementer of C++ as well as the author of The C++ Programming Language (Fourth Edition) and A Tour of C++, Programming: Principles and Practice using C++ (Second Edition), and many popular and academic publications. Dr. Stroustrup is a Managing Director in the technology division of Morgan Stanley in New York City as well as a visiting professor at Columbia University. He is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering, and an IEEE, ACM, and CHM fellow. He is the recipient of the 2018 NAE Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering and the 2017 IET Faraday Medal. He did much of his most important work in Bell Labs. His research interests include distributed systems, design, programming techniques, software development tools, and programming languages. To make C++ a stable and up-to-date base for real-world software development, he has been a leading figure with the ISO C++ standards effort for more than 25 years. He holds a master’s in Mathematics from Aarhus University and a PhD in Computer Science from Cambridge University, where he is an honorary fellow of Churchill College.