Waseda University ICT and Robotics

Top Global University Project: Waseda Goes Global -A Plan to Build a Worldwide Academic Network
that is Open, Dynamic and Diverse

Waseda University

Event Information

International Symposium on Future of Computer Technology 2018 (ISFCT2018)

International Symposium on Future of Computer Technology 2018 (ISFCT2018)

Date1:00PM-6:05PM July 24 (Fri.), 2018 (Reception opens at 12:30PM)
AvenueConference Room 102, Green Computing Systems Research and Development Center
Participant feeFree of charge *Pre-registration is required
OrganizerFrontier of Embodiment Informatics: ICT and Robotics, Waseda University SGU program
Advanced Multicore Processor Research Institute, Waseda University
SponsorshipIEEE Computer Society Japan Chapter
IEEE Computer Society Multicore STC
Oscar Technology Corporation

Message from Organizer, Prof. Hironori Kasahara

On July 24, 2018, in collaboration with the IEEE Computer Society (President: Prof. Hironori Kasahara of Waseda University), the Frontier of Embodiment Informatics: ICT and Robotics, Waseda University SGU program will hold the COMPSAC2018 conference at the Tokyo Hitotsubashi Hall and the National Institute of Informatics (NII). World-class researchers, winners of the IEEE Computer Society 2018 Computer Pioneer Award, Technical Achievement Award, and Distinguished Service Award, will be invited to COMPSAC to serve as the keynote speakers. Researchers will also be invited to the International Symposium on the Future of Computer Technology 2018: ISFCT 2018 being held at the Waseda Green Computing Research and Development Center on Tuesday, July 24.

The world’s most advanced symposium will be held with the following speakers.

Attendance is free of charge, but pre-registration is required. We look forward to seeing you at the symposium.



12:30Registration Start
13:00 – 13:10Opening Address
Prof. Shuji Hashimoto (Vice President of Waseda University)
Prof. Hironori Kasahara (Waseda University / IEEE Computer Society President 2018 / ISFCT2018 Chair)
13:10 – 13:40Prof. Sorel Reisman
(California State University, Fullerton)
13:40 – 15:05Dr. Bjarne Stroustrup
(Morgan Stanley / Visiting Professor of Columbia University)
15:05 – 15:15Coffee Break
15:15 – 16:05Prof. Margaret Martonosi
(Princeton University)
16:05 – 16:35Dr. Dejan Milojicic
(Hewlett Packard Labs)
16:35 – 16:45Coffee Break
16:45 – 17:15Prof. Cecilia Metra
(University of Bologna)
17:15 – 17:35Prof. Hironori Kasahara
(Waseda University / IEEE Computer Society President 2018 / ISFCT2018 Chair)
17:35 – 17:55Dr. Christoph Schumacher
(Oscar Technology / Guest Assistant Professor of Waseda University)
17:55 – 18:05Closing Address
Prof. Shigeki Sugano (Waseda University / Leader of SGU Project: ICT and Robotics)

Invited Speakers

  • Dr. Christoph Schumacher

    Waseda Visiting Researcher
    Oscar Technology

  • Prof. Sorel Reisman

    Professor, California State University, Fullerton
    IEEE Computer Society President 2011
    IEEE Computer Society E. Merwin for Distinguished service 2018 Winner

  • Dr. Bjarne Stroustrup

    Managing Director, Morgan Stanley
    Visiting Professor, Columbia University
    C++ Developer
    IEEE Computer Society Computer Pioneer Award 2018 Winner

  • Prof. Margaret Martonosi

    Professor, Princeton University
    Researcher in low-power computing
    IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award 2018 Winner

  • Dr. Dejan S. Milojicic

    Senior Researcher and Managing Director of HP Labs,
    IEEE Division VIII Director, IEEE Computer Society President 2014

  • Prof. Cecilia Metra

    Professor, University of Bologna, IEEE Computer Society President-Elect 2018 (President 2019)

  • Prof. Hironori Kasahara

    Professor, Waseda University
    Japan’s first IEEE Computer Society President (2018)
    Parallel Compiler Multicore Researcher
    IEEE Computer Society President 2018


Green Computing Systems Research Organization
27 Waseda-machi, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan 162-0042